Monster Hunter X July 11 Feature

New Monster Hunter X Details and Live Stream Announcement

Due to Famitsu’s coverage of Monster Hunter X last week, and the interview they had with the game’s developers, we have some new details you can find below.

Besides that, Capcom has announced that it will be showcasing the first live gameplay from Monster Hunter X during a live stream of Monster Hunter Tsudoi 2015 Summer on July 16. Additionally, Monster Hunter Diary: Poka Poka Airou Village DX will also be featured. Monster Hunter series producer Ryozo Tsujimoto, along with various developers, will be present at the event.

If you are interested, you can watch it here, at the following times:

12 PM in the UK
1 PM in Europe

Now on to the Famitsu details:

– Dinobaruto is one of Monster Hunter X’s four main monsters, and uses its giant powerful tail as a great sword to slash up its enemies. It also has explosive fire attributes to its tail;
– Main monsters from past Monster Hunter games will appear in X, including Zinogre, Tigrex, Brachydios and Rathalos;
– Ancient Forest area has its own ecosystem with all kinds of unexplored areas to it;
– The Rimosetosu are calm herbivores that use their long necks to eat fruits found in higher areas. They also make characteristic sounds from the back of their heads;
– A new Bird Wyvern called the Great Maccau has red and green colors with powerful hind legs. They tend to attack in packs, with the Great Maccau as a leader of the pack.
– Great Maccau have movements unlike any we’ve seen before and are the larger alphas of the group;
– Palicoes are back in the game with more support moves;
– “Trampoline Skill” brings out trampolines on the field, which you can use to perform jump attacks;
– “Cat-type Vitality Pot Skill”: a pot they bring out onto the field that provides a variety of buffs and effects to the Hunters;
– “Headlong Cat Skill”: flashy move that has them launch themselves into the monsters;
– Palicoes have moves that can heal the party, increase defense of allies and do major damage to monsters;
– Different cats exist in Verna Village;
– “Felyne Plaza”: employ and raise Palicoes here with various activities for them;
– Plaza has a “Cat Girl” for providing services to the Palicoes;
– There’s also the “Palico Dojo” where you’ll train your furry buddies;
– “Mon-nyan Unit” for special quests;
– Pet fluffy “Muufa” to bring out hearts, similar to other pet monsters in previous games, and a Felyne that provides all kinds of items from faraway areas;
– Fields from the returning regions are in X, including the Forest and Hills, Snowy Mountains, Misty Peaks, and more.

And the Famitsu interview details:

One of the main focuses was having a system that brings the possibilities of using the same weapons with different play-styles.

The plans for Monster Hunter X began sometime around the production of Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate. Capcom wanted to bring out more of a “festive” feeling that’s not in Monster Hunter 4 Ultimate, so they decided to bring back villages from past titles, and add four main monsters, instead of the usual one-per-title.

The “Hunting Style” is a system that was made to bring out more possibilities from each weapon.

Capcom originally thought about adding a new weapon type. While that would’ve given Monster Hunter X a decent selling point, it would’ve been a lot of work, and would have required more of a focus on the new weapon(s). Instead, the team decided to focus on the player’s “attachment to the weapon” as a concept.

Hunting Styles come in four forms. One is the basic style seen in the past. The second lets you set more “Hunting Arts” than usual, along with more showy and offensive actions. The third one specializes in mid-air fights, which also lets you jump off monsters for special attacks and more. Finally, the fourth one is a style with the theme of “turning a pinch into an opportuniy.”

Hunting Arts came from the idea of giving players more of their own unique characteristics. There are several Arts, and these may vary depending on how they’re used. Some of them will work better with certain Hunting Styles, so players will get to mix and match to their liking.

Hunting Arts range from special attacks that deal major damage to enemies, or heals that recover allies, and buffs that support your party.

Capcom have prepared numerous Hunting Arts for each weapon, but there are also some “basic Hunting Arts” that can be used with any weapon, and you’ll get to choose from them all.

The four main monsters won’t simply appear over time as you advance through the game with one being stronger than the other, but they’re actually all along the same rank. They’re called the “Elite Four” among the developers.

Dinobaruto is the one they showed this time, and the idea behind it came from the thought of “hey, let’s make a land-type Rathalos.” While Dinobaruto uses fire attacks, it doesn’t fly, and focuses more on its actions on the ground. It has the image of a monster that would’ve lived back in the “world of dinosaurs.” With its tail and attack characteristics, it has a bit of a knight and swordsman’s feeling to it, and is the more orthodox monster of the four main monsters.